'Thor: Ragnarok' release date, plot, cast news: filming set for Chris Hemsworth's native Australia


The Australian government recently announced that Marvel Studios’ upcoming film Thor: Ragnarok will be filming in Down Under, along with Alien: Paradise Lost.

In a video announcement posted by Australia’s Foreign Affairs Minister Julie Bishop, Thor star Chris Hemsworthwho is also of Australian originsexpressed his gratitude in having the chance to shoot this upcoming film in his home country.

“I want to say a huge thank you to the federal government,” Hemsworth said in the video. “Particularly, for the Foreign Minister, Julie Bishop, and Minister for the Arts, Mitch Fifield, for making it possible for Thor: Ragnarok to shoot here in Australia. I’m incredibly excited to be coming back home to work and here with our extremely talented production industry which I think is one of the best in the world. It’s fantastic to see the government and the Prime Minister supporting our creative industries. I look forward to introducing my Marvel friends to this beautiful country of ours.”

As previously reported by Variety, it was said that Rufallo had been in “final negotiations” for an appearance as Bruce Banner/The Hulk opposite Chris Hemsworth as Thor in the new film. This will be Rufallo’s first big screen appearance as The Hulk outside an Avengers film, since the character was last seen in his own standalone film with Edward Norton in the role.

Thor: Ragnarok will also bring back actors Tom Hiddleston and Jaimie Alexander as Loki and Lady Sif, respectively. Taika Waititi will direct the film, with a screenplay written by Christopher Yost and Craig Kyle. The film will hit theaters November 3, 2017.

Opening up Phase Three of The MCU, Captain America: Civil War opens in theaters May 6, 2016. This will be followed by Doctor Strange, Guardians of the Galaxy 2, the Spider-Man reboot, Thor: Ragnarok, and various other films leading to Avengers: Infinity War Part I and Part II. Ant-Man and The Wasp will hit theaters on July 6, 2018. Phase Three of the Marvel Cinematic Universe closing in on Inhumans, if original plans are followed. Now, three new MCU films are set for a May 1, July 10, and November 6, 2020 release date.