'The Winds of Winter' release date news: Book almost done? Greyjoy brothers star in latest excerpt

0

Fans of George R.R. Martin’s “A Song of Ice and Fire” series have waited a long time for the upcoming sixth installment, “The Winds of Winter.” Rumors speculate that sixth novel in the series might finally be nearing completion after the author released a new excerpt chapter from the book.

George R.R. Martin is believed to be nearly done with the next installment in his fantasy novel series or at least, he could be in the final stages of writing. This particular news came after the author updated his Live Journal blog, where he informs his fans and readers about the new happenings in the development of the next book.

Prominent updates about “The Winds of Winter” featured repeated and maybe somewhat exasperated reiterations that the next book in the “A Song of Ice and Fire” series is not done yet. The last update from the author came last May 24, informing his followers of his plans to got to Baltimore for this year’s Balticon event.

According to the Vulture, Martin let his fans read a new excerpt from “The Winds of Winter.” This new chapter focuses on the backstory of the Greyjoy brothers and also shows the darkness in Aeron Greyjoy’s life a far cry from the brighter tone of the last excerpt which focused on Arianne Martell.

The chapter centered on the Drowned Priest Aeron’s life after previously leaving to form a resistance against his brother Euron’s rule. It was revealed that Aeron was actually kidnapped and imprisoned by his brother’s people. Furthermore, Euron would sometimes visit Aeron and torment him about memories of abusing him when they were younger, as well as the prospect of murdering their other brothers.

As if that were not enough, it turns out that with the dark tone of “The Winds of Winter,” there will also be even more deaths for the series, according to Martin and reported by GameNGuide. According to the author, he just cannot write the next iteration of the “A Song of Ice and Fire” series without killing someone off.

Fans can discover more of the grim elements when Martin finally decides to finish and release “The Winds of Winter.”