'Supergirl' news: new promo trailer shows some of the villains and Supergirl's abilities


With its premiere only a few weeks from now, Supergirl network CBS further teased excited fans with a brand new video showing never before seen footageand it showed a sneak peek of the season’s villains, Supergirl’s (Melissa Benoist) abilities, as well as other tidbits that will further hype up the show before its premiere in late October.

The videos showcased a first look at villains that can be expected in the series: Maxwell Lord (played by Peter Facinelli), Reactron (played by Chris Browning), Vartox (played by Owain Yeoman) and Hellgrammite (played by Justice Leak). Hellgrammite’s sketch from the military as well as Vartox’s spaceship was also shown. Vartox, in the comics, is from planet Valeron that is an equal to Superman in terms of powers and abilities.

The new footage also gave a look at Supergirl’s Heat Vision, flight abilities, and super breath. It was also shown that both Jimmy Olsen (Mehcad Brooks) and Winn Schott (Jeremy Jordan) know Kara’s secret identity and are also aware that each other knew about it.

Warner Bros. Television and CBS recently released the first image of actor Iddo Goldberg as Red Tornado, a villain to the heroine Kara Zor-El, aka Supergirl.

Goldberg plays the role of Red Tornado, all the while playing the role of supervillain scientist T.O. Morrow, too. However, Morrow is not an alter ego of Red Tornado, as he is the inventor of the android. But in the series, it is still not clear whether the two entities will somehow be fused together, or if the Red Tornado will simply be created in the form of his inventor Morrow.

Red Tornado is officially described as: “RED TORNADO is the most advanced android the world has ever seen. Designed by scientist T.O. Morrow for the U.S. Army as the ultimate super weapon, he soon becomes sentient, posing a grave danger to National City — including the people Supergirl cares about most.”

Supergirl will premiere on October 26 at 8:30 p.m. on CBS and will then move to its regular 8 p.m. timeslot on November 2.