‘Get Out,’ ‘Call Me By Your Name’ take top film honors at Writers Guild Awards

Director Jordan Peele accepts an award for for "Get Out." REUTERS/Mario Anzuoni

Jordan Peele’s “Get Out” and James Ivory’s “Call Me By Your Name” won major film awards at the recently concluded Writers Guild Awards held Sunday.

The event, which was held in concurrent shows in New York and Los Angeles, honored Peele and “Get Out” in the best original screenplay category, while Ivory won the best adapted screenplay award for “Call Me By Your Name.” The wins put both films in the list of frontrunners for the upcoming Academy Awards.

“This was a passion project. It was something that I put my love into, I put my soul into, so getting this from you means so much,” said Peele, who noted that he began writing the script in 2008.

In his speech, Peele also acknowledged the difficulties of being a writer, but encouraged all the writers in the room to keep taking chances and take big risks, saying “our voices really do matter.”

Peele topped an excellent roster of nominees, including Greta Gerwig for “Lady Bird,” Guillermo del Toro and Vanessa Taylor’s “The Shape of Water,” Emily Gordon and Kumail Nanjiani’s “The Big Sick,” and Steven Rogers for “I, Tonya.”

Ivory’s “Call Me By Your Name,” on the other hand, won over Aaron Sorkin’s “Molly’s Game,” Scott Neustadter and Michael Weber’s “The Disaster Artist,” Dee Rees and Virgil Williams’ “Mudbound,” and Scott Frank & James Mangold and Michael Green for “Logan.”

The Writers Guild Awards also recognized writers for television. Hulu’s “Handmaid’s Tale” won two awards, best new series and best drama. The series showrunner, Bruce Miller, dedicated the award to Margaret Atwood, the author of the novel that the series was based on.

“Mostly this goes to Margaret Atwood for her novel. She is the mother of us all,” said Miller.

“Veep,” “Big Little Lies,” “Last Week Tonight with John Oliver,” “Saturday Night Live,” “Better Call Saul,” and “Will and Grace” were among the television shows that took home awards.