'Destiny Year Two': update 2.0 introduces increased level cap and massive game changes ahead of 'The Taken King'

0

As promised, and as repeatedly announced by Bungie in the past, Destiny just got the massive update 2.0, the biggest update in the game to date thus far.

The update, with an equally massive change log, marks the beginning of Destiny Year Two. As per game developer Bungie, the update 2.0 also prepares the players for the arrival of Oryx in the games newest and biggest expansion pack ever, The Taken King.

The change log is very long, but a number of significant changes in the game include the increase in the player’s character level cap. After the update 2.0 is applied, the level cap will be increased to 34. But should the player get The Taken King, that level cap will again be increased and the limit will then be up to level 40. Also, the character level and the Light level are now two separate stats, with the Light level, now calculated by the average of the Attack and Defense scores of all the player’s gear. Outgoing and incoming damage has been adjusted accordingly to go with these changes.

Additionally, Attack Power values on weapons and gear have been renormalized in preparation for the coming of The Taken King. Bounty slots have been increased to 16, and a new Quest Screen will be added into the game’s Menu.

The 2.0 update also left behind some things in the game. For one, Vanguard/Crucible Marks gets replaced by Legendary Marks. Current Vanguard/Crucible Marks of players will then be converted into faction commendations. Additionally, The Elder Cipher no longer drops everytime players clear the Skolas Challenge Arena. The Exotic Items found on it can now be found on the Prison of Elders Treasure Chest.

Bungie announced over their official website the exact release time that The Taken King will go live on September 15the expansion will officially go live at exactly 2 a.m. PDT. This is equivalent to 5 a.m. EDT and 10 a.m. UK time.